27, 28, and 29 out of 410 Days: Keeping Count

Maybe I should been counting down instead of counting up my days.  I could then focus on how much time was left instead of how much has passed.  Not that I suppose it matters.  Since I started this blog it turns out I was using a faulty pedometer that was under representing the distances I ran and thus telling me my average speed was very slow indeed.  I discovered this after my run on day 27 on a course of a known distance.  It shouldn’t matter.  I’ve been running what I’ve been running, regardless of what number(s) it is a assigned.  And yet, I still feel as if the inaccuracy makes it for naught.   This can work the other way in my faulty logic as well: if I don’t weigh myself there is no number so there is nothing to worry about.  

I finished a full draft of the book review.  Its 1,200 words too long.  Or 150% more than they wanted in the first place.  I think I know some cranky bits I’ll cut out, but I’m going to sleep on it.  I waited until today to write up my notes because I wanted a weekend of distance to see the forest for the trees.  I see a forest now, but I have a hunch a couple of my points are out of step with how others in the discipline see things.  A conversation or two will help.  I’m noticing is as a pattern in my writing process.  It should stop surprising me.

The review will still be too long after my cuts.  I’ll send it in regardless.  

One thought on “27, 28, and 29 out of 410 Days: Keeping Count

Leave a Reply

